Our generation portfolio

Gas-fired stations emit around half the carbon of a typical coal-fired power station. We operate six natural gas-fired power stations: one baseload station to provide power for everyday use, and five peaking stations to provide a source of power during peak times.

Darling Downs Power Station, QLD

Generation capacity: 644 MW

Our Darling Downs Power Station in Queensland is one of the country’s most efficient baseload power stations, running on coal seam gas from reserves in the Surat Basin.

Roma Power Station, QLD

Generation capacity: 80 MW

The Roma Power Station is a peaking power station and was built and commissioned by the energy business of Boral in 1999, which became Origin in 2000.

Mortlake Power Station, VIC

Generation capacity: 566 MW

Mortlake Power Station is the largest gas-fired power station in Victoria. The peaking power station is powered by gas from the Otway Basin.

Ladbroke Grove Power Station, SA

Generation capacity: 80 MW

Ladbroke Grove Power Station is a natural gas-fired peaking power station which became operational in 2000.

Quarantine Power Station, SA

Generation capacity: 224 MW

Our largest peaking power station in South Australia, Quarantine Power Station on Torrens Island shares the uninhabited stretch of land with a conservation park. It opened with four turbines in 2002 and a 2009 expansion more than doubled its capacity.

Uranquinty Power Station, NSW

Generation capacity: 664 MW

Uranquinty is one of Australia’s largest and most efficient gas-fired peaking power stations.

For enquiries call 1800 677 315.

What is baseload power?

Baseload power stations give us the reliable and relatively low-cost steady supply of power that we use every day and every night.

What is peaking power?

There are times when the demand for electricity is at its highest. Our scorching Australian summers or cold winter nights may stretch the power system to its limits. This is when we need the support of peaking power stations.

Our other power stations

Cost-competitive and reliable energy supply

Eraring Power Station, NSW

Generation capacity: 2,880 MW

Eraring Power Station is Australia’s largest power station, and our only coal-fired power station. Acquired in 2013, it is one of the more emissions-efficient black coal-fired power stations in Australia.

For enquiries or complaints call (02) 4973 0700

Mt Stuart Power Station, QLD

Generation capacity: 423 MW

Operational since 1999, Mt Stuart is North Queensland’s largest power station, designed to generate electricity at peak times. Mt Stuart uses an open-cycle gas turbine system in which the three turbines are fuelled by Extra Low Sulphur Diesel. The power generated goes into the NEM which covers Australia’s eastern and southern states.

Shoalhaven Hydro Pump Storage Scheme, NSW

Generation capacity: 240 MW

Shoalhaven Pump Storage Scheme consists of two pumped storage hydropower stations at Kangaroo Valley and Bendeela in the Shoalhaven area. Water used to generate electricity during peak demand periods is pumped back, during lower demand periods, to storage headponds above each station ready for when power generation is next required. The facility is also used to supply water to Sydney during times of drought.

Shoalhaven proposed expansion

In May 2020, Origin completed a full feasibility assessment into the potential expansion of Shoalhaven. 


Shoalhaven Pollution Incident Response Management Plan

The Shoalhaven Pollution Incident Response Management Plan has been developed in accordance with the requirements of the Protection of the Environment Operations (General) Amendment (Pollution Incident Response Management Plans) Regulation 2012.

Osborne Cogeneration Plant, SA

Generation capacity: 180 MW

With both baseload and peaking capacity, Osborne provides electricity to the National Electricity Market. Osborne is jointly owned by Origin and ATCO Power, and Origin contracts 100% of the output.

Bendigo and Ballarat Solar Parks, VIC

Generation capacity: 685 kW

In 2009, the Central Victoria Solar City Program brought together a consortium of local authorities and businesses to develop the Bendigo and Ballarat Solar Parks which generate a total of 685 MWh of power per year. (Based on 2013/2014 generation figures from the solar parks.)